Leo's Lightbulbs

Monday, May 20th

Hello everyone and welcome to Leo’s Lightbulbs! I’ll be covering the top news from the past week every Monday morning in your inbox. This newsletter was written completely by hand, without any AI assistance or even AI editing.

So, obviously the big news is OpenAI’s GPT-4o “Omni”, but I wouldn’t discount Gemini either. To me the most important part of GPT-4o is the response time of 320ms. Prior to 4o, LLMs had a slow response time which made conversations feel stilted and unnatural, with too much delay and too many pauses. This speed increase is the most exciting part of the upgrade to me - even more so than GPT-4o’s ability to both interpret and output emotional nuances (understanding tone and speaking with tone).

TL;DR

Have a wonderful week everybody! I check this email address ([email protected]) daily, so don’t hesitate to reply with any thoughts or questions for a chance to get featured next week!

Yours,

Leo

Reply

or to participate.